almost-sane's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jerry Orbach Remembered and Remembering me

These are not people I know personally, but every now and then, a particular celebrity death really manages to get to me. Someone I really admired, I suppose.

This man was so versatile. I imagine most people are going to remember him as Detective Briscoe, but I first knew him as a Broadway star and Tony winner. Then as Lumiere from Beauty and the Beast.

And if you can't remember him putting Baby in the corner in Dirty Dancing, you must have been born too far away from 1987.

He was a good looking fellow back then (and was quite distinguished as he aged), in Promises, Promises - in it's original cast on Broadway. He was in the original Broadway cast of Chicago, if you didn't know, and he was in the first cast of the famed Fantasticks.

Am I rambling? I know, I'm disturbed.

But in other, more personally relevant news that you'd more likely want to know about, work and otherwise, I've been immensely productive this week. I am nearly closed out at the office for 2004 and I can happily start out 2005 knowing I am on my way.

Last night, I got started on some good housekeeping. With K. gone, I can go at it with success. I know when he comes back from his parents' house in NJ, it will all go back to shit, but it's nice not to live in squaller for just a short time. I like walking into the kitchen and not seeing a pile of dirty dishes or coming into the bathroom and spotting the mold giving life on his side of the counter.

If you're cringing, I wouldn't blame you in the least.

I've decided this day could not go by any slower. It's just now 4:15 and I think about an hour ago it was only 4:05. I'm dying for a cigarette and my cramps are KILLING me.

Luckily, it's Wednesday and I have a hunch there could be some sort of Law & Order marathon on TNT, but at the very least, it's on NBC at 9:00 and they've been showing the Briscoe episodes during rerun season.

My favorite Lennie quote, by the way: "New Hampshire. I spent a year there one weekend."

4:05 P.M. - 12.27.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

chubbychic
emiline220
emmalene
girlsdontcry
givemeabreak
heidiann
idiot-milk
jenne1017
mornglory
no1sgirl
paintedgray
pauls-lab
porktornado
purplebanana
sroo
srch4balance
trancejen